Yunnan Overview

Yunnan Quick Facts

Yunnan: One of the provinces of China.

Capital: Kunming

Location: Southwest of China, bordering Vietnam, Laos and Burma; inside China, Yunnan borders Guizhou province and Guangxi Zhuang autonomous region to the east, Chongqing municipality and Sichuan province to the north and Tibet autonomous region to the northwest.

Area: Totally, 394,000 square kilometers.

Population: Over 40 million.

Borderline: More than 4,000 kilometers.

Administrative Divisions: 8 municipalities, 8 autonomous prefectures, 79 counties.

Elevation: Highest point: Kagebo peak-6740 meters, lowest point: southwestern tip of the town of Hekou-76.4 meters.

Climate: Diverse, covering temperate, subtropical, tropical and frigid.

Ethnic Groups: Totally, 26, Han Chinese 67%, other 25 minority groups 33%.

Religions: Buddhism (including Mahayana, Hinayana and Lamaism), Daoism, Christianity, Islam and primitive religions, etc.

Languages: Local dialects, ethnic minority languages.

Locations of the Major Tourist Destinations in Yunnan

Map of Yunnan